Kale Bowl Construction

For this month’s Athletics Ontario Brand Ambassador Challenge, I have created a video of myself cooking one of my favourite meals: a customised kale bowl. For this meal, I have provided the basic instructions and possible components one might use, but it’s really up to the individual to pick and choose what he or she finds the most delicious (or what’s on sale at the store).

Here are the ingredients I used to make my kale bowl:

  • kale
  • red pepper
  • avocado
  • baby carrots
  • pumpkin seeds
  • broccoli
  • coconut oil
  • avocado
  • extra firm tofu
  • curry powder
  • salt and pepper
  • olive oil
  • balsamic vinegar

The first step is to wash and chop the kale and then add the dressing of olive oil and balsamic vinegar, seasoning with salt and pepper. Then use your hands to massage the dressing into the kale leaves in order to soften them. The act of massaging the kale and letting it sit while you prepare the rest of your vegetables and protein helps to break down the toughness of the kale.

Then add your vegetables. Choose whatever you find delicious. It’s pretty simple.

Then add your protein. For this recipe, I fried up some extra firm tofu, seasoned with curry powder, but I’ve also used salmon, chicken, canned tuna, and canned beans. Usually I season my protein with curry powder because I find it delicious. Simple.

On a harder workout day, I’ll add more elements of carbohydrates, such as a sweet potato, or a cup of quinoa, brown rice, couscous, etc.

And that’s it. Nothing too complicated and doesn’t require any measuring or fine details but packs a punch of nutrients, colour, and deliciousness. Find below the video, which shows the easy-to-follow instructions and a photo of the final dish.

Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gVPSD1rFVug

Kale Bowl

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

