Three Bears

During the past couple weeks, I’ve developed a literal pain in the butt, in my left side (Remember Left Shark? I couldn’t remember exactly what that was all about, so I went back and searched for it, watched the Super Bowl video, and couldn’t figure out if it were my left or Katy Perry’s left. I thought they both looked great and were living the dream.), which has forced me to hold back on the hard workouts for a few days. Prior to that, I had been quite sick for about a week leading up to and following a 3000m indoor track race, so it’s been a couple weeks since I’ve been in “regular” training.

The track race was a really fun day. Really great races to watch, huddled along the wall with teammates and trying to keep warm at the indoor York track, and then roughly 11 and a half minutes of pure agony. The race itself didn’t go exactly as I had wished –the first kilometer felt harder than I wanted and the wheels starting coming off pretty rapidly after that; I was thinking desperately how to sneak off the track without my coach noticing (he was actually on the track pacing someone else in the race) but I tagged along behind another gal’s heels for the rest of the race and finished with an o-kay time. Not great, but it was a hard effort and I was glad not to have run it alone.

(Re-capping the race with a more experienced friend, he told me that I was thinking too damn much and should’ve just shut off my brain and run. All of that wasted brain power as I was calculating splits and plotting my early escape from the race could’ve been siphoned into a faster time; just be a dumb jock, dummy.)

After the race, it felt like someone had climbed up into my sinuses and throat and just raked them raw and bare. I was out of commission for a few days, repeatedly going into work and then leaving early as I realised how useless I was and how much noise I was making in an otherwise pin-droppingly silent workspace. It took a few days of being horizontal on the couch with a Snuggie, eating soup, and watching a lot of Will & Grace (& Karen), but I finally started feeling better. When I returned to health and running, I was stoked to get back to it, and started with a nice, moderate speed workout to start ‘er up. Unfortunately, while running I felt a pain in my left side, from the back to the butt to the hamstring, the lower leg, and the foot, enough so that I had to tell my coach about it. No secrets between runners and coaches, right?

(Okay, my left leg was bothering me for a while, probably since starting the indoor track workouts, but it had felt like something I could stretch, roll, ice, etc. etc. etc. my way through. Perhaps I should’ve stopped sooner to avoid this recent set-back? I’m not sure. Also, I’m not sure how much wearing older than I should be wearing pairs of shoes made an impact, but I was having a brutal time finding a new pair of shoes to replace my NB 870s, the last model which just felt weird and bad, and which they then just discontinued. As someone who hates shopping, it took me a long time to settle on a new pair, but I am now trying out the Brooks Ravenna.)

So I had to back off again, and this time, I went to the pool, mostly because I didn’t want to be in the seated position and aggravate my back and butt further, but also because I wanted to see if I would still look like a huge dork. In the slow lane. With my floatation belt. Mission accomplished.

Tonight will be my first real test of the leg with a short ladder. I’ll have to do it outdoors, so it’ll be tough to find somewhere that’s juuust right. I’ll just try to find a place that’s reasonably well-lit, with minimal off-leash dogs, a decent surface, low-vehicular traffic, and as a bonus, a discreet place to pee.

 

Leave a Reply

